How to logout securely with Riot

Making sure a login session does not persist on a shared computer

Use this guide to fully logout of any browser. If you want to be even more sure that you don't leave any data traces on the shared computer, please use a private navigation window.

Since there is a known bug in Riot's Single Sign On mechanism (link github) that causes a login session to survive a normal logout, you should be extra careful when using a shared computer. Instead of using the Riot logout function, you should clear session data altogether through the preferences menu from your browser

1. Firefox

1.1 Close all Riot tabs

First we need to close all open Riot windows and tabs

1.2 Navigate to the Privacy window

You can do this by typing "about:preferences#privacy" in the URL bar

1.3 Go to Manage Data

Under the section Cookies and Site Data choose Manage Data

1.4 Search your domain

Enter mydomain.com in the search bar

1.5 Remove and save changes

Choose Remove All Shown and then click Save Changes

1.6 Confirm changes and logout

Confirm the removal, you will be logged out now

2. Chrome

1.1 Close all Riot tabs

First we need to close all open Riot windows and tabs

2.2 Navigate to the Privacy window

You can do this by typing "about:preferences#privacy" in the URL bar

2.3 Go to Manage Data

Under the section Cookies and Site Data choose Manage Data

2.4 Search your domain

Enter mydomain.com in the search bar

2.5 Remove and save changes

Choose <stong>Remove All Shown</stong> and then click Save Changes

2.6 Confirm changes and logout

Confirm the removal, you will be logged out now

  • Author: thomas
  • Date: May 22, 2020